Members of the public are being encouraged to get involved in shaping future pharmaceutical services across Ayrshire and Arran.

NHS Ayrshire & Arran is seeking to appoint a number of voluntary Public Committee Members to the NHS Ayrshire & Arran Pharmacy Practices Committee (PPC).

Voluntary Public Committee Members are independent of the NHS and are crucial in providing an external perspective on important issues and decisions. Public Committee Members are responsible for ensuring the decision-making process is transparent and follows national guidance.

Roisin Kavanagh, Director of Pharmacy, explains: “This is an exciting opportunity to contribute to and inform discussions about future pharmaceutical services in Ayrshire. Members of the Pharmacy Practices Committee help to decide which community pharmacy applications are included on the Ayrshire and Arran pharmaceutical list.

“We are particularly interested to hear from individuals who have experience as a member of a board or committee, or experience of operating at a strategic level in a professional role. We will provide full training and support, and will reimburse all travel expenses.”

Please note that Public Committee Members cannot be current members of an NHS Health Board or have been a doctor, dentist, optician or pharmacist or an employee of a person who is a doctor, dentist, optician or pharmacist.

To find out more and to apply, please contact Carolyn Dickson, Assistant Primary Care Manager by emailing or calling 07557 114209. The deadline for applications is 23 October 2022.

For an application form and supporting documentation, visit